Capitol Press Corp


The North Carolina Capitol Press Corps is the organization for affiliated reporters and photographers covering state government in Raleigh.

Its primary functions are to issue credentials and working space to journalists working in the NC Legislative Building. Membership consists of journalists covering state government full-time who work for organizations whose primary business function is the collection and dissemination of general news and information. Permanent press corps members’ full-time job is covering state government in Raleigh. Provisional press corps members are qualifying government reporters and photographers who don’t cover the legislature full-time, but are issued temporary credentials for when they are here. For more information and to request credentials, contact the press corps president. Daily press passes may be available for qualifying visiting press.

The press conference room is on the first floor of the Legislative Building. The pressroom is in the basement near the cafeteria and NCGA police office. There is also a press corps space between the House and Senate chambers.

The Capitol Press Corps President for the start of the 2023 legislative session is Dawn B. Vaughan, the Capitol Bureau Chief at The News & Observer.

Permanent members for 2023-2024 Legislative Session:

Associated Press

Main AP office: 919-510-8937

Gary Robertson:; 919-510-8937 office; 919-821-4208 pressroom; 919-630-3196 mobile.

Hannah Schoenbaum:; 984-242-8650

The News & Observer (and Charlotte Observer)

Dawn B. Vaughan (Capitol Bureau Chief):; 919-829-4877 office; 919-219-1921 mobile

Avi Bajpai:; 919-346-4817 office; 646-725-9985 mobile

Luciana Perez Uribe Guinassi:; 919-829-4578 office; 984-220-7660 mobile

NC Insider (McClatchy/N&O)

Lars Dolder:

WUNC - NC Public Radio

Pressroom: 919-831-9862

Colin Campbell (Capitol Bureau Chief): 919-295-3869;

Rusty Jacobs,; 919-225-6378


Michael Hyland,, 919-306-6557

Michael Barnard,; 919-306-6534

NC Health News

Office: 919-295-6246

Rose Hoban:, 510-384-0832

Spectrum News

Office: 919-882-4040

Loretta Boniti (Anchor/Senior Political Reporter):; 919-612-9036

Mary Helen Jones (political reporter):; 336-339-2968

Mark Barger (Chief Photographer):; 919-612-6915

Maurice Griffin (Senior Photographer):; 919-612-6881


Office: 919-821-8584; Pressroom: 919-828-8527

Laura Leslie (Capitol Bureau Chief):, 919-619-3099

Travis Fain:; 919-630-9296

Josie Zimmer:

Will Doran: 850-933-5310;


Office: 919-683-1111

Aaron Asselin:


Axios Raleigh

Lucille Sherman:, 405-471-7979


Alex Granados:, 919-880-2017

North Carolina Tribune/Business North Carolina

Currently vacant

Provisional members for 2023-24 Legislative Session:


Enlace Latino NC

Walter Gomez: 919-441-5698,